Club History


Pan Hellenic - The Beginnings

Established in Sydney by Greek immigrants in 1957, Sydney Olympic Football Club has been and continues to be a major pillar and a leading contributor to football in Australia as well as a nursery to many of its finest talents.

The founding date of the Club is set as 28 November 1957, as this was the first meeting of Club Founder Christos Giannakoulias with several other influential protagonists at his home. It was decided there, that the newly formed team would be known as Pan-Hellenic.


NSW 2nd Division

In its first season in 1958, Pan-Hellenic found itself in the NSW 2nd Division, which at the time was split into 2 groups - Western & Eastern.
For season 1959, the Federation did away with a Finals Series and promotion playoffs, instead awarding promotion to the club which topped the competition table after the 26 rounds.
In 1960 Pan-Hellenic reached the Grand Final again, but would go on and lose to Polonia 2-1. Finally earned promotion to the NSW 1st Division for 1961.


Sydney Olympic & the NSL

For 1977 the club became a pioneering founding member of the National Soccer League, and also changed its name to Sydney Olympic.

Sydney Olympic had a tough initiation into National League Football in 1977, finishing 3rd last. 1978 saw a vast improvement from Sydney Olympic as it finished in a much-improved and respectable mid-table position.

In 1979 Sydney Olympic endured another difficult campaign, finishing in 2nd last place.


The 1980s for Sydney Olympic

Seasons 1981 and 1982 were a period of stabilisation for the club. The mid-1980s are generally referred to as a Golden Era for Sydney Olympic. It was exciting times and the club was on a high.
Between 1983 and 1986 Sydney Olympic played in 4 consecutive National Finals. Sydney Olympic bounced back in season 1988 to finish 5th.1989 would prove to be a bitter-sweet end to the decade for Sydney Olympic.


The 1990s began on the right foot

Sydney Olympic surged once again in season 1991/92, missing out on the Minor Premiership by 1 point.
The next few seasons were inconsistent for Olympic. 1992/93 (9th), 1993/94 (6th), 1994/95 (9th).
For season 1995/96, Sydney Olympic formed a prosperous partnership with the University of Technology Sydney (UTS). Season 1997/98 also saw the club's worst ever defeat in January 1998. This season saw Olympic finish 9th. Season 1998/99 saw Olympic finish 7th, missing the Finals !


Back To The State Leagues

The 2000s saw Olympic's fortunes take an upturn. In season 2000/01, Sydney Olympic finished 4th. Season 2001/02 saw the club move base again. The 2002/03 season saw Sydney Olympic win its first ever Minor Premiership by finishing on top of the NSL ladder.
Following the demise of the NSL in 2004, Sydney Olympic participated in the 2004/05 NSW Premier League season. 2007 was a special year for Sydney Olympic as it celebrated the 50th anniversary of its founding. In season 2009, Sydney Olympic dropped back down the ladder, ending the season in a disappointing 8th spot.


Up and down

The new decade would start off in a miserable way. Season 2010 saw Sydney Olympic ending the season in 2nd last spot. 2012 saw Sydney Olympic finish 2nd and 2013 Sydney Olympic finished a disappointing 7th. In 2014, former Greek international centre-back Sotirios Kyrgiakos signed for the club.
In 2015 Sydney Olympic finished 4th. For 2016, Sydney Olympic endured an up and down season where it finished the season in 6th spot. In 2017, Sydney Olympic reached the Finals again. In 2018, Sydney Olympic returned to winning ways. In 2019, Sydney Olympic experienced an up and down season, finishing the season 6th.


A strange year...

Tough times at the moment for so many, we wish all our fans, players and families the very best and stay strong and together.

Hall of Fame

Jim Patikas

Peter Katholos

Gary Meier

P. Raskopoulos

G. Jennings

Grant Lee

Abbas Saad

Chris Kalantzis

Mark Bosnich

Pablo Cardozo

Ante Juric

Nick Carle






Champions: 2011, 2018
Premiers: 2011,2018
Johnny Warren Cup Winners: 2008
Tiger Turf Cup Runners Up: 2008
Club Championship Winners: 2008
Champions: 1989/90, 2001/02
Runners Up: 1984,1986,1989,2002/03
Minor Premiers: 2002/03
Cup Winners: 1983,1985
Cup Runners Up: 1989, 1989/90
Super League Winners: 1980
NSL Player of the Year Award
1982 – Peter Katholos
NSL Top Goalscorer Award
1991/92 – Tim Bredbury
1998/99 – Pablo Cardozo
NSL Under 21 Player of the Year Award
1997/98 – Brett Emerton
NSW NPL Goalkeeper of the Year Award
2017 – Paul Henderson
2018 – Paul Henderson
NSW Premier League/NSW 1st Division
Minor Premiership
Winners (3): 2011, 2018, 2022
Runners Up (3): 1968, 1980, 2012
Individual Honours
NSW NPL Top Goalscorer Award
2022 – Roy O’Donovan